A critical look at HHN 25.

criticalanalysis

Backstory: I have been attending this event since 2004. Though I've not been around since its inception I certainly have seen some magnificent work and lived through the creative controversies of recent years. Therefore, and please pardon any unintentional arrogance, my experiences enable me to speak quite confidently on how the event is. What allowed the event to explode is not because it is Universal. It is not because it was a haunted attraction. It's because they had a carefully calibrated concoction which delivered cinematic experiences others could not. Unfortunately, as competition increasingly creates detailed haunts those behind the event need to ensure they keep delivering the consistent formula that works. Because I am a self-proclaimed critical analyzer, I hope what is contained herein permits those who read it to question their own views and to work against an echo-chamber of support that is dangerous for the event.  It's merely out of love, I want to see the formula permeate everywhere in the event. 

Halloween Horror Nights 25: My critical, disjointed review.

Overall: 

The event gets an overall 7/10. I do NOT think the houses were as good as they could've been. I do NOT think the scarezones were as good as they could've been. But that said the event was "good." There was a consistency of "good" in this event. Note, though, I am hesitant to say the event is a true return-to-form because much of this year absolutely was reused, intentionally (but to a flaw), to celebrate its 25th year. Outside of the Body Collectors I do not think the original content was as good as it could've been. Unfortunately I will never give IPs the love they apparently get because it's less difficult to copy a successful horror movie than it is to create loved original content.