Freuquent Fear First or Second Week? Off Site Hotel Recommendations

Cloves

Hi everyone, I have been attending HHN for five years now, and I love it. It has become a yearly event for me. This year I'll be making the trek down by myself. Friends/fam all can't go.

I was wondering what people thought about the first or second week as a better and why?

Also looking to meet up with some members or groups to enjoy the park with. Doing HHN thurs, fri, sat and sun. Universal in the day and water parks via hopper ticket.

The Movieland Hotel right across from Wet N Wild is where we stayed the first 10 years we went.  It's old, but it's clean.  It has crazy outdated pictures on the walls (like N*Sync) and has no real frills.  It has an outdoor pool (don't think it has a hot tub, but might be wrong) and an on site Black Angus restaurant.  The breakfast buffet there is horrible, and never ate lunch or dinner there, but at night it can be fun.  People say it has AMAZING steaks.  Apparently, most hotel bars on I-Drive close at like 10pm or something and they're open later...so the employees from all the other bars show up there for some late night fun and Kareoke.

If all you want is a roof over your head, it's perfect.  You could walk to Universal if you wanted to...otherwise it's like $10 for a cab ride there.  Whatever you do, DON'T TAKE THE FREE SHUTTLE.  Since you are right where the hotels start on I-Drive, you get picked up first and then drive alllllll the way down I-Drive.  It took so long, we were tempted to get off and call a cab from wherever we were.  Taking it home wouldn't be a bad idea, but we never seemed to do that...maybe it stops running at midnight or something.  Not sure.

It's been a good 5 years since we stayed there, but it was more than serviceable and was one of the cheapest places you could find on I-Drive.  Really old video games and the vending machines on each floor seem to be out of service half of the time, but it's a roof over your head.